Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: Previous1234567891011...LastNext
Current Page: 3 of 14
Re: Track Talk: Moonlight Mile
Posted by: His Majesty ()
Date: February 12, 2013 13:31

Redhotcarpet
Silver Dagger
The main acoustic riff strikes me as being the work of pretty much a guitar novice. It's really easy to play and reminds me of the kind guitar noodling absolute beginners come up with as they find their way around the fretboard.

Thats why I never bothered to listen before. Love the song but the intro is a typical beginner noodlings

All part of it's charm.

Posted by: Silver Dagger ()
Date: February 12, 2013 14:05

His Majesty
Redhotcarpet
Silver Dagger
The main acoustic riff strikes me as being the work of pretty much a guitar novice. It's really easy to play and reminds me of the kind guitar noodling absolute beginners come up with as they find their way around the fretboard.

Thats why I never bothered to listen before. Love the song but the intro is a typical beginner noodlings

All part of it's charm.

100 per cent. Less is quite often more. I'd much rather have a simple guitar motif than some crazed jazz rock noodler trying to squeeze more than 100 notes in the first few bars.

Posted by: treaclefingers ()
Date: February 12, 2013 16:02

T&A
treaclefingers
T&A
too spacey and ethereal...where's the backbeat? where's keith's chugging guitar and mick's wailing harp????

Unfortunately they had already used that up on the previous album, on Midnight Rambler.

that's the problem when you let the tape keep running...if rambler were short and sweet at 3 minutes, moonlight mile coulda been saved....

Unfortunately Mick wouldn't have been able to do that whole belt thing in concert then. Sigh, life is full of compromises.

Posted by: liddas ()
Date: February 12, 2013 17:31

Redhotcarpet
Silver Dagger