Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 1234Next
Current Page: 1 of 4
Why Do I Dislike Chuck Leavell?
Posted by: ghostryder13 ()
Date: May 18, 2010 14:12

i'm not a musician but his playing it sounds so un natural. is it his playing style or is it the keyboards he uses? i know nothing much about him but seems like the guy belives he is an official member of the stones.

Re: Why Do I Dislike Chuck Leavell?
Posted by: guitarbastard ()
Date: May 18, 2010 14:17

he seems to be a nice guy, but you're right: he always sounds a bit like a keyboardteacher at a bandworkshop...somehow a bit "stiff" and the pianosound is too "produced" for my taste....

Posted by: 1962 ()
Date: May 18, 2010 14:19

Because you like STU! (So do I)

Posted by: jjflash73 ()
Date: May 18, 2010 14:29

But thank god he is not Matt Clifford. While Chuck is no Stu or even Nicky, he is quite a good pianist going back to his days with the Allman Brothers Band. His solo on 'Jessica' may be one of th ebest piano solo ever recorded.

my 2 cents worth.

jjflash73

Date: May 18, 2010 14:29

A real piano and more tactful playing would have done the works. Instead, he's too prominent and doesn't really suit the stones, imo. Grea hammond player, though.

Posted by: shortfatfanny ()
Date: May 18, 2010 14:32

Time Out for Taylor/Wood ?

Posted by: Keefan ()
Date: May 18, 2010 16:27

I think that Keith & Mick rely on Chuck a little too much to be the glue that holds everything together -as a result of that, Chuck tends to overplay.

I wish they'd get Ian MacLagan to play with them again, but due to his being a drinking buddy of Ronnie's, Mick probably would never let that happen.

Posted by: mickschix ()
Date: May 18, 2010 16:40