Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
remasters hard on jags voice.
Posted by: Beelyboy ()
Date: September 20, 2009 22:49

finally listened concentratedly to latest remaster of classic stuff...SFTD in particular...keith's git sounds thin; mick is over-compressed...missing warmth...better seperation and definition on some frequeies, mostly toward the bottom...but not good overall imo.
i am not an expert or claiming to be one but i also have some age on me and am very very familiar with each stones album as it came out and heard each one over and over and over on several, many...a multiplicity evennnn, of mono and stereo setups for years and years...so i do have some frame of reference sonically on how these things hit the culture (and affected it too)....

the tremendous seductive warmth of sftd's powerful recorded challenge is missing in mick's voice...everythings hotter as we expected...but that DOES NOT have the warmth and full humanity of jags most terrific work imo...which makes more and more generations removed from other sources...listening to this silvery hot slash of mick's voice and keith's leads...a shame in a way methinks...
all this ultra modern hocus pocus and endless hype...for naught methinketh...