Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Shine a Light movie - Champagne and reefer guitar
Posted by: mjol ()
Date: January 14, 2020 03:28

Hi,

I've Just been watching the Shine a Light film, and I just wondered which guitar Keith is playing during Champaign and Reefer? Looks like a Gretch, but can't figure it out exactly...

- mjOL

Re: Shine a Light movie - Champagne and reefer guitar
Posted by: crholmstrom ()
Date: January 14, 2020 04:22

mjol
Hi,

I've Just been watching the Shine a Light film, and I just wondered which guitar Keith is playing during Champaign and Reefer? Looks like a Gretch, but can't figure it out exactly...

isn't that the one Keith gave to Buddy (on display at Buddy's club)? if so i think (i'm no expert) its a gibson.

Posted by: masseywinos ()
Date: January 14, 2020 04:48

I was Buddy Guy's bar legends 6 years ago. Was in Chicago to curl. I remember it was Jimmy Johnson playing that night (bluesman not football coach).
There is a store of sorts in there and I asked about signed items and the guy told me to wait as he was expecting Buddy to show that night. Sure enough he did and signed a poster for me. Chatted with him and told him how much I enjoyed him in Shine A Light. He got up to play a surprise song with the band and played Champagne and Reefer. I believe for me. Great night.

Posted by: SomeTorontoGirl ()
Date: January 14, 2020 05:05

Crholmstrom... I seem to remember reading about that guitar Keith gave Buddy at the end of Champagne and Reefer and someone apparently went scrambling after Buddy to get it back. Not sure the source, maybe someone else remembers it? Regardless, I’m a huge fan of that song in SAL.