Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: Previous123Next
Current Page: 2 of 3
Re: OT : Robin Thick and Pharrell Williams Ordered to pay $7.2 million to Marvin Gaye's estate over "Blurred Lines
Posted by: Lynd8 ()
Date: March 13, 2015 03:14

Robin should be forgiven - the video of the songs was awesome LOL

Re: OT : Robin Thick and Pharrell Williams Ordered to pay $7.2 million to Marvin Gaye's estate over "Blurred Lines
Posted by: Naturalust ()
Date: March 13, 2015 07:00

Lynd8
Robin should be forgiven - the video of the songs was awesome LOL

Oh I'm sure if the judgment holds he'll be plenty forgiven, just possibly a few million dollars poorer.

peace

Posted by: swiss ()
Date: March 13, 2015 10:50

drbryant
schillid
drbryant
I am an attorney, have dealt with copyright issues, and have a hard time understanding this decision. I haven't listened to the songs closely or studied the music but my initial reaction is that there isn't enough to support a copyright infringement claim.

I wonder if the jury was properly instructed. Appeal.

Do you know how they'd have to go about it?...
The legal process, that is, if they want to appeal the verdict?

Yes. If they believe that a mistake was made in the application of the law, they can appeal to an federal court of appeals. The problem that I have is that while the songs sound similar, most of the similarity is based on which I believe are "non-protected" elements. That is why the reports are that the jury was not allowed to listen to the whole track and spent most of its time with sheet music. But just casual listening tells me that the protectible elements aren't very similar. That said, I haven't studied the organ parts, the melody, the lyrics, etc., which are all protectible.