Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Stefan Sagmeister and some Jagger tidbits
Date: January 2, 2014 23:44

THE DESIGN GURU

[www.thehindu.com]

How did you enter design and music industry?

Design and music are my two interests. As a teenager I was interested in the design of album covers. I studied design in Vienna and worked in a magazine. In 1993 I entered music industry.

And met Mick Jagger?

Oh yes. I can tell you about meeting Mr. Jagger.

Jagger's assistant Lucy gave me a quick rundown on Mick and I found him to be friendly but busy.

He grabbed my portfolio and said, “So, you’re the floaty one.” “The floaty one?” “Yeah, all your covers seem to float in the plastic box.” He liked the Lou Reed package, liked the attention to detail in some of the others. I asked him about his favourite Stones covers and he mentioned without hesitation: Exile on Main Street , Sticky Fingers and Some Girls . These are my favourites as well, I told him.

Jagger showed me the presentation for the stage designs, labelled ‘The Blasphemy Tour,’ and I got it.

I felt like I had won the first prize in ‘The Big Rolling Stones Meet the Band All Expenses Paid’ radio show contest, I said. And they all cracked up.

How much of the music influences the design of the cover?

Look at the iconic covers - Pink Floyd Dark Side Of The Moon , Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s… and such. A good cover is meaningless if the music is bad. Generally, the musicians and the designers meet and do a visualisation. That’s how it works.

IHAVEANIDEA

[ihaveanidea.org]

ihaveanidea: Give me a crazy client story with the big lesson you learnt from the experience.