Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
Ron Wood impact on the Stones
Posted by: liddas ()
Date: February 11, 2010 15:04

I have read so many times in the past RW/MT debates that Ron Wood's impact on the band was minimal, that he was relegated to the role of a yes man, and so on.

What a load of BS!!!

Sometime in 67 Keith started interpreting differently the drums bass section and developed a immediately recognisable guitar playing that became the trademark of the so called "golden era". I am no seession expert, but I would say that Connection is the very first evidence of what was coocking.

Of course the guitar sound changed with open tunings and fat chord progressions. But other groups were already developing a similar sound. What made the stones so unique was putting Keith's guitar and his grooving "playing with the tempo" set by Charlie and Bill under the spot light.

By Let it Bleed the new formula was well oiled and ready to take off. That's what happened once MT joined the band. By the time the last Street fighting Man of the 73 tour was done, it couldn't get any better.

In the time being Soup and the following IORR showed that the band was trying new directions. Probably during the Soup sessions they were forced to do so because of Keith's conditions, but who knows.

In any case, whenever Keith was in the room, and had control of the session, the let it bleed formula was back in place.

This continued well after MT left the band. The guitars during 75 tour were essentially organized as they were in the last Taylor years: me rhythm you solo.
Same can be said of the B&B sessions with Mandel and Perkins.

I can't define the exact moment, but slowly the band started to take a new direction and Wood was the key element.