Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Thoughts as we approach 20th anniversary of Steel Weels album and tour
Posted by: Mongoose ()
Date: July 23, 2009 18:15

Hard to believe, twenty years ago....

I was so excited about the "grand reunion" album coming out and a new tour cranking up. Atlanta tickets were sold out very quickly, but I wound up winning seats from a Ruby Tuesday's restaurant, and also got tickets to the show in Birmingham. All of this suddenly happening when two years before I figured the Stones were history.

I remember writing a review of the Steel Wheels album for the Georgia State student newspaper, where I was a grad student at the time.

In 1989, my feelings were, simply, that we're fortunate, as Stones fans, to get one more album and one more tour, and that'll probably be it. Maybe we'd fortunate to get something else sometime in the 90s, but, by all means, it'll wind down and stop. I saw a friend that summer, asked her about her interest in the tour, and her immediate comment was "no, I think they're going to be too old."

Little did we all know that there were many tours to come, and I'm happy to have seen them again, twice in 1994, once in 1997, once in 2005, and again in 2006.

Yes, we haven't had a lot to rave about in the area of studio recordings since and including Steel Wheels, although I've found things to like in all of 'em.

Bottom line, though: the very fact that all of us are still speculating about another album and another tour in 2009 or beyond is remarkable.

I was fortunate to meet Chuck in the mid 80s, and even then I was asking him about how long the Stones can continue.

His response: "Man, those guys will never quit. They're still just the same R&B band that they ever were."