Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
When did the Stones start multi-layering their recordings?
Posted by: Green Lady ()
Date: August 29, 2008 17:35

As His Majesty said in the fascinating "Harp on Jack Flash" thread, "Working out parts and then trying to see who played them and what they may have used is one of my favourite past times". Mine too, although I'm not very good at it.

When I'm doing this, I feel safe to assume that in the very early days, what you hear on the record was effectively recorded "live": i.e. if Mick is singing then that must be Brian playing harp, and if there are two guitars then two different people are playing them.

By the time of Beggars Banquet and JJF I can take it for granted that there will be a pre-recorded backing track and probably several additional layers recorded later.

What I'm not sure of is when the change from one technique to the other happened (somewhere around Aftermath? Earlier?). What do you reckon are the earliest tracks where what you hear on record did NOT all happen in the studio at the same time?

Re: When did the Stones start multi-layering their recordings?
Posted by: cc ()
Date: August 29, 2008 17:54

I think there are overdubs as early as the first LP. But I too would like to see this clearly laid out. My understanding is that they would record as much as possible on the first "layer," but then had a track or two for overdubs. But these had to be combined & done at the same time. So they'd all sing back-ups together, for example. You can hear mick singing back-up as well as lead on "Tell Me."

one thing I wonder--are mick's lead vocals live, ie, done at the same time as the rest of the basic track, or were they already usually the first priority for overdubbing?