Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
The story behind my first bootleg - what's yours?
Posted by: Greenblues ()
Date: March 9, 2008 18:34

It must have been in 1987. I was a student, living in Berlin at the time. I already knew about bootlegs but I'd never seen one in a shop. Some years before a friend of mine had brought a Led Zeppelin boot with him back from his holiday in Italy. It sounded raw end exciting. I wanted one too, but living in a small village then, there was no way to get it. Until now.

I went to a big flea market on Potsdamer Platz. This was not the heart of the reunited Berlin as it is now, but a vast, deserted, muddy area, carved by the Berlin Wall (which were in fact two huge walls with a mine-peppered section in between). You also had the blocked up stairways of the Potdsdamer Platz subway station capped with thick concrete slabs in between these walls.

Not a place you'd like to visit on a cold and lonely night, but a very crowded place on this certain Sunday afternoon. German and Turkish marketeers all over the place, many amateurs among them, selling everything from Nazi memorabilia to old bedside carpets. You could definitely get your bargain there just as long as you searched long enough...

It didn't take long till I found the certain type of dealer I was looking for. He was leaning on a huge desk covered with boxes filled with tons of records. Nobody talked much about CDs then, especially not on a flea market, so it was all good old Long Players.

I scanned the boxes...and there they were, BOOTLEGS OF THE ROLLING STONES! I could hardly catch my breath. I began to browse the many records with strange "non-professional" looking covers. They were so expensive! A double LP with Black and Blue tracks was 100 Deutschmarks!