Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
OT - RIP Washoe
Posted by: little queenie ()
Date: November 1, 2007 07:25

washoe, the 42 year-old chimpanzee who was the first to use sign language to communicate with humans, died on October 30.

I studied her data in graduate school and had the priviledge of working "for" her for over a year.

Among other things, she was the unquestioned matriarch of the group and had a shoe fettish.

[news.yahoo.com]

Re: OT - RIP Washoe
Posted by: Lukester ()
Date: November 1, 2007 16:46

I remember reading about Washoe back in the early 70's...."In The Shadow Of Man," by Jane Goodall.

That's cool that you got to work for her, little queenie.....

Posted by: stone-relics ()
Date: November 1, 2007 16:52

Little Queenie wrote:

>I studied her data in graduate school and had the priviledge of working "for" >her for over a year.

>Among other things, she was the unquestioned matriarch of the group and had a >shoe fettish.

Are you an anthropologist? I am an archaeologist...did some primate studies my self at Arizona State U back in the 70s.

JR

Posted by: Chris Fountain ()
Date: November 1, 2007 16:58

Little queenie...thanks. More folks like you are needed.

Lukester, that book is an interesting read.

And the Panthers are in deep #### versus Tennessee... this is getting out of hand...anyone coming off the injury list? I don't have the will anymore to visit charlotte.com. Wwatchout for Wolfpack Basketball

Date: November 1, 2007 17:01

....thanks Chris (you didn't miss much of a Panthers game last week)

...and speaking of primates, I once had a spider monkey as a pet but the little bastard kept stealing my stuff so I had to let him go....

Posted by: Chris Fountain ()
Date: November 1, 2007 17:05

LOL