Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Stones keyboard curse?
Posted by: swimtothemoon ()
Date: February 9, 2015 08:44

I was watching both Mac and Stu in the 81 Hampton video and was struck how hard that particular position is on musicians. Three stellar stones keyboard players
Are now deceased: Stu, Nicky and Mac. Now some may ask "what's taking so long for
Chuck" - but I'm not in that category. I hope Chuck beats the curse.

Re: Stones keyboard curse?
Posted by: BroomWagon ()
Date: February 9, 2015 08:49

Billy Preston too?? I've taken an interest in Billy Preston, I like that song "Nothing from Nothing", I even put a verse in my signature but I guess it was not recognized, "

"Remember I told Ya, I'm a soldier in the war on poverty", well, I know Billy Preston has been consider an unofficial Rolling Stone before.

I saw a Youtube video of a very young Billy Preston, 9 years old or so and he was the piano-player for Nat King Cole doing "Blueberry Hill." Then, Billy Preston also had an instrumental album way back in his teens as well. Quite talented. Tragic. Again. [worldbiography.net]

Posted by: 24FPS ()
Date: February 9, 2015 09:02

Their reluctance, laziness, whatever, to seek out new, interesting keyboard players has hurt their sound since at least the mid-80s. They haven't had an appropriate sounding, serious pianist in a long, long time. Chuck has provided the odd boogie woogie on a couple studio cuts, but his sensibility is simply wrong for the band.

Posted by: tomk ()
Date: February 9, 2015 09:18

Yes, please don't forget Preston. I've been relistening/revisiting his That's The Way God Planned It record. That's a great song and album.

Posted by: Silver Dagger ()
Date: February 9, 2015 09:48

Not a good job to have in a band. Look at the Grateful Dead.

Date: February 9, 2015 11:24

24FPS