Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Charlie Watts underrated?
Posted by: RollingFreak ()
Date: June 9, 2013 16:55

Was listening to the Stones while in the car with my friends, and one of them who's a drummer asked me to turn it up so he could listen to the drumming. Few seconds later he commented "yeah, he sounds self taught." I said "interesting. I have no idea, but whatever the case is he's highly underrated." Both friends I was with, music guys, immediately disagreed with me. They both knew who Charlie Watts is and they were trying to explain to me he's from a different generation where he's fairly ordinary. They thought he was perfectly rated.

I obviously shot back saying he's the engine of the Stones that people often forget about and the fact that he isn't fancy is what makes him so great. Most of this comes from having a father who loves the Stones but loves and has always praised Charlie Watts in particular. We've always said he was underrated in my family and I do tend to agree. Never thought of him as "ordinary", but I can see the argument my friends have towards it. I guess when they think of great drummers they think Keith Moon and John Bonham.

What are people's thoughts here? Is Charlie underrated or do you think he just fits the Stones and in the world of drummers he is perfectly rated at "nothing special"?

Re: Charlie Watts underrated?
Posted by: kleermaker ()
Date: June 9, 2013 17:01

It's may sound paradoxal, but he's so apt for the Stones also because of the fact that he's 'ordinary'. But I don't underrate his musical insight at all.
Besides he's just a great and nice guy, which is also important. He has a perfect Stones image though. Love to seeing him play on Knocking these days.

Posted by: StonesTod ()
Date: June 9, 2013 17:03