Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

guitar scales/theory suggestions...
Posted by: chrism13 ()
Date: April 6, 2012 19:01

Looking for suggestions on how to improve my guitar solos. I can make the guitar sound pretty ..but like many who are self taught, I technically have no idea what I am doing.

Not sure where to start? The major scale, then on to pentatonic, Modes?

Any advise in surely appreciated...

Re: guitar scales/theory suggestions...
Posted by: 71Tele ()
Date: April 6, 2012 19:15

chrism13
Looking for suggestions on how to improve my guitar solos. I can make the guitar sound pretty ..but like many who are self taught, I technically have no idea what I am doing.

Of course, you didn't say what kind of music you prefere, but assuming you are a Stones fan, start with pentatonic major and minor. Put on something like "Dead Flowers" and play the pentatonic in the first "B" position. Bend the "G" string a lot. Instant country!

Posted by: Max'sKansasCity ()
Date: April 6, 2012 19:27

I might suggest start working on the "minor pentatonic boxes". Just practice working these up, and down, the neck.

I found this picture out on the net.... You can see from these pictures that the boxes over lap each other, and although the fret numbers are off to the left, the patterns can also be started in any key.
Hope that helps.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2012-04-06 19:30 by Max'sKansasCity.

Date: April 6, 2012 19:28

oops... looks like tele answered while I was searching/writing...
okey dokey, have fun.

Date: April 6, 2012 19:34