Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
OT-The Kinks
Posted by: CrazyDadda ()
Date: October 15, 2010 06:38

I'm just getting into The Kinks and would like to know what's a good starting point in terms of albums, live, etc. Thanks. I am listening to the first album now.

Re: OT-The Kinks
Posted by: whitem8 ()
Date: October 15, 2010 07:03

Muswell Hillbillies is their Exile. Also Face to Face and Something elese are great starting points for their mid 60s stuff. Can't go wrong with those three...

But then also Lola vs. the Powerman and the Money-go-Round is a great starting point as well... But Muswell is amazing.

Later stuff...Low Budget was their Somegirls, a big comeback for them. Misfits is wonderful, as is Schoolboys in Disgrace, but might not be a good starting point.

Posted by: Happy Jack ()
Date: October 15, 2010 07:16

Village Green and Arthur are two musts for Kinks fans, and music fans in general. Two great albums.

Posted by: Marhsall ()
Date: October 15, 2010 07:26

Victoria!! My fav. Kink song

"Well my heavy throbbers itchin' just to lay a solid rhythm down"

Posted by: whitem8 ()
Date: October 15, 2010 07:30

Happy Jack
Village Green and Arthur are two musts for Kinks fans, and music fans in general. Two great albums.

So true Happy! I didn't put Arthur for a first timer in Kinkdome, but one of my favs. And Village Green is another good starting point.

Posted by: Rocky Dijon ()
Date: October 15, 2010 07:34