Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: Previous12
Current Page: 2 of 2
Re: Interview with Mick Taylor in-depth look at Mick’s Rolling Stones years
Posted by: 71Tele ()
Date: August 20, 2010 18:11

DandelionPowderman
Doxa
DandelionPowderman
Remember Beast Of Burden? winking smiley .

Yeah, but as I have understood - correct me if I'm wrong - it is one of those songs that Jagger actually shaped the final singing melody (that actually is not the most structural even then but more like a rough vehicle to Jagger's interpretaion skills...). As "Angie" as well.

SOME GIRLS, over-all, was made during the era when being precise and working the melodies and rhymes perfect wasn't the latest thing... I think that bloody well suited to Keith Richards...smoking smiley

- Doxa

You may be right, as I have no knowledge of who shaped the song - only that "it was Keith's song". Still, a song like Before They Make Me Run, is for me a very "finished" and well-crafted song with interesting verses, bridge and chorus. And that one was Keith all the way, wasn't it?

I actually remember Mick saying he wrote quite a lot of the lyrics to Before They Make Me Run.

Posted by: Doxa ()
Date: August 20, 2010 18:18

71Tele

I remember an interview with Keith in the depth of the junkie days (mid-70s) where he said "I've stopped writing songs", meaning composing in the traditional sense. He was bragging about it. His writing became more riff-based and less structured. You can really hear the weakness of this approach on his two solo albums. Most of the songs rely on heavy riffs but are weak lyrically. Mick really took over the songwriting from GHS on. Too bad, because they came up with great stuff when they were doing it back in the 60s with a more "Lennon/McCartney" approach.