Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Suspicious of bass on Exile bonus tracks
Posted by: 71Tele ()
Date: June 20, 2010 05:15

I have listened to the "new" Exile tracks a number of times now, and have noticed that the bass on the more "Jaggerized" songs like "Following The River" sounds much different in tone and even style than Bill's playing. Don Was is a bass player. Could they? Would they? It's not like they haven't wiped Bill before, as on some of the original Exile tracks. I've been listening to Bill for forty years, and this just sounds - different. Maybe some magic was worked with eq, and it was brought up more in the mix, but I am starting to wonder.

Re: Suspicious of bass on Exile bonus tracks
Posted by: Mathijs ()
Date: June 20, 2010 23:04

Well, I am having big, big doubts about the genuinity of the tracks...I wanted to learn the riff to Plundered My Soul, and only then I noticed how botched and edited this part is, with vintage sounding parts, but also very modern sounding ones...On some of the tracks there's slide guitars that really aren't done by Taylor nor Richards, I still really doubt the drums on Following the River is Watts, and indeed, the bass on most of the traks just does not sound like Wyman at all...I've been listening to Bill since '83, and most of it just does not sound like him....

I don't have any proof, let's keep that clear, but my ears are telling me something different than what Jagger wants us to believe here.

Mathijs

Posted by: billwebster ()
Date: June 20, 2010 23:21

Mathijs