Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Best Rambler version
Posted by: MickGibsonSG ()
Date: December 24, 2005 23:30

I'm a newbie as far as live versions, I have the ya ya's which scorches, but what are the top three or five other ones? And can anyone usendit them?

Re: Best Rambler version
Date: December 24, 2005 23:38

My favorite version bar none is on the "Get Yr Leeds Lungs Out" boot from '71. They start out with a Bo Diddley jam while Keith gets his guitar together and then it hits like a freight train. Besides the fact that it rocks, it's one of the best examples of how the Stones could go beyond simply playing music and tranform the performance into theatre. There were some killer versions from '72 and '73 Euro tours as well. After that, as one critic noted, "Midnight Rambler doesn't make your hair stand on end like it used to." But that guy probably still lives with his mom and watches a lot of TV.

Posted by: Wild Slivovitz ()
Date: December 25, 2005 00:39

UnderAssistantWCpromoMan Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
After that, as one
> critic noted, "Midnight Rambler doesn't make your
> hair stand on end like it used to."

According to my own experience, it still did in 2003 (and I'm confident that it will in 2006, if I'm lucky enough to get this song at the concerts I'm going to attend).

"got to be worked on
don't have no bark nor bite..."

Posted by: Cafaro ()
Date: December 25, 2005 01:14

My fav is from Brussells Affair

Posted by: Erik_Snow ()
Date: December 25, 2005 01:56

X

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2008-04-24 22:52 by Erik_Snow.

Posted by: Gazza ()
Date: December 25, 2005 03:39

The version on Brussels Affair is not only the best version the Stones ever played of this song, but the best version they ever played of ANY song.