Previous page Next page First page IORR home
The Rolling Stones Fan Club of Europe
It's Only Rock'n Roll

The Rolling Stones
Forty Licks

These are the latest Rolling Stones news and updates for you! IORR is a non profit fan club run by fans for fans. All parts of the It's Only Rock'n Roll web site is copyright of The Rolling Stones Fan Club. When using information from this site, please include a reference to IORR and the main web address
Tell Me
Goats Head Soup
2020 reissue
Living In A
Ghost Town
Blue &

Double CD with 36 digitally remastered classic Rolling Stones tracks and four new songs

LONDON, AUGUST 12 2002 - The first ever comprehensive retrospective album covering The Rolling Stones' greatest hits dating back to the very start of the band's recording career up to the present day will be released worldwide by EMI Recorded Music's Virgin Records label on October 1, 2002 in North America (September 30 outside North America and September 26 in Japan).

Disc 1

  1. Street Fighting Man
  2. Gimme Shelter
  3. Satisfaction
  4. The Last Time
  5. Jumpin Jack Flash
  6. You Can't Always Get What you Want
  7. 19th Nervous Breakdown
  8. Under My Thumb
  9. Not Fade Away
  10. Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby
  11. Sympathy For The Devil
  12. Mother's Little Helper
  13. She's a Rainbow
  14. Get Off My Cloud
  15. Wild Horses
  16. Ruby Tuesday
  17. Paint It Black
  18. Honky Tonk Women
  19. It's All Over Now
  20. Let's Spend The Night Together
Disc 2

  1. Start Me Up
  2. Brown Sugar
  3. Miss You
  4. Beast Of Burden
  5. Don't Stop
  6. Happy
  7. Angie
  8. You Got Me Rocking
  9. Shattered
  10. Fool To Cry
  11. Love Is Strong
  12. Mixed Emotions
  13. Keys To Your Love
  14. Anybody Seen My Baby?
  15. Stealing My Heart
  16. Tumbling Dice
  17. Undercover of the Night
  18. Emotional Rescue
  19. It's Only Rock 'n Roll
  20. Losing My Touch
Entitled Forty Licks, the package consists of two 20-track CDs (CD1 on the ABKCO label and CD2 on the Virgin label) that represent an unprecedented joint cooperative venture between The Rolling Stones, ABKCO Records and EMI's Virgin Records in North America, and between The Rolling Stones, ABKCO, Universal Music International and EMI in the rest of the world.

Destined to confirm to both long time and new fans why the Rolling Stones have been acknowledged as 'The World's Greatest Rock 'n Roll Band,' the collection features digitally remastered classic Rolling Stones hits including (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction, Ruby Tuesday, Brown Sugar, Miss You and Start Me Up.

In addition to these historic tracks that reflect the Stones legacy, four new songs especially recorded by the band for this collection with producer Don Was are included in the set.

The Rolling Stones will kick off their Rolling Stones World Tour 2002/2003 in Boston on September 3rd. After over 40 dates in North America the band will head off to Europe, Australia and Asia where, in 2003, they hope to play their first ever concerts in China. Artists that will share the stage with The Rolling Stones as opening acts on the tour include No Doubt, the Pretenders, Sheryl Crow, Buddy Guy and Jonny Lang. The Rolling Stones hold the all-time records for the three best attended tours of all time - 'Steel Wheels', 'Voodoo Lounge' and 'Bridges to Babylon'.

The latter disc will also feature four new Stones tracks -- "Don't Stop," "Keys to Your Love," "Losing My Touch" and "Stealing My Heart" -- which were recently recorded with producer Don Was, who worked on the band's last two studio albums, 1997's Bridges to Babylon and 1994's Voodoo Lounge. "They're not old tunes that we dug up or even things that were relatively new. These are new new," Mick Jagger told Rolling Stone. "'Don't Stop' is the single-y one. 'Stealing My Heart' is more like garage rock with a hook. 'Key to Your Love' is kind of like a soul ballad, but not very slow. It has a kind of 'Beast of Burden' tempo. And 'Losing My Touch' is Keith singing a ballad. And that is very slow."

Collector's information:

Rolling Stones - Forty Licks, without slipcase, Europe/German release,
                 724381337820, EMI Uden, inner ring of the CD covered
                 with aluminium;
Rolling Stones - Forty Licks, slipcase release, Europe/German release,
                 724381337820, EMI Uden, inner ring of the CD is clear;
Rolling Stones - Forty Licks, without slipcase, US release,
                 724381337820, inner ring of the CD is clear;
Rolling Stones - Forty Licks, without slipcase, US release,
                 724381337820, inner ring of the CD is clear, packed in
                 LP sized box with large booklet and poster;
Rolling Stones - Forty Licks, without slipcase, Japan release,
                 VJCP-68444-45, Toshiba-EMI, inner ring of the CD covered
                 with aluminium;
Rolling Stones - Forty Licks, as cassette and LP-version is not avaiable
                 in Europe; the LP's seems to be out in the Netherlands(?);

Rolling Stones - Don't stop, German CD-single (14.10.2002),
                 724354682124, EMI Uden,
                 1) Don't stop, (Edit, 3.29),
                 2) Don't stop, (New Rock Mix, 4.00),
                 3) Miss you, (Remix, 8.35);

Production numbers:

Vinyl 7243 8 13325 1 1
Cassette 7243 8 13325 4 2
CDX 7243 8 13325 2 8
O-card (slip case) limited ed.
CD 7243 8 13378 2 0

The single:

"Don't Stop"
Possibly backed with the Dr. Dre 2002 remix of "Miss You", but still not confirmed.

The single is due to be released one week after the album release date, with radio airplay starting late August.

PS. There will probably be a web site titled promoting this new album.

Reports about "Forty Licks" in the press:

For details and great photos from the Rolling Stones and their World Tour get IORR 45 due out in September 2002!

Previous page Next page First page IORR home It's Only Rock'n Roll 2002 -
© The Rolling Stones Fan Club Of Europe