Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

OT Memphis and Nashville help
Posted by: DD ()
Date: March 26, 2007 01:12

Hello to all,

I'll be visiting Memphis and Nashville next week on a two-week holiday from London. I obviously cannot wait for this, and I'm hoping that some of you people might be able to help me..

I'm a guitarist and singer, and while over there I'd like to play, preferably in both cities if I can. The best opportunity for this will be open-mic nights. Do any of you know of any good open-mic nights, where they're held and on which evenings, please? Also, any good (and extremely cheap) guitar shops any of you can recommend (particularly in Memphis as that's where I'm heading to first)?

Also, any other tips for enjoying the cities? I have researched this trip so I will be going to anywhere at all which is in a guide-book, but I wonder if people who know those cities might have some lesser-known information about places to see, drink, eat or even avoid??

Thankyou very much in advance,

Declan

Re: OT Memphis and Nashville help
Posted by: Elmo Lewis ()
Date: March 26, 2007 02:22

If you're good enough, The Bluebird Cafe in Nashville.

Walk down Beale Street in Memphis and ask the club owners and clubgoers. Lots of great musical stuff in both cities - enjoy.

If ya get down to Georgia, give us a holler!

"No Anchovies, Please"

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2007-03-26 02:22 by Elmo Lewis.

Posted by: HelterSkelter ()
Date: March 26, 2007 05:09

If you're REALLY GOOD you can sit in with the bands playing on Beale Street. Be sure to visit SUN STUDIO, GRACELAND (of course), and the motel where MARTIN LUTHER KING was shot and killed, it's now kind of a museum, very interesting. His room has been left the way it was on 4/4/68. Memphis is a great place - have fun !!

Posted by: kovach ()
Date: March 26, 2007 17:12