Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

MFSL CD-Rs : The best way to save the Stones-collection ?
Date: May 14, 2006 12:27

[www.mfsl.info]
- in German

[www.mofi.com]
- in English

This is perhaps old news. But I have no experience with these cd-rs. I have however read very good reviews recently. In fact a hi-fi expert-friend of mine have copied some of his original cds to these mfsl-cd-rs and claims that the outcome is actually better than the originals.

The company claims the following : "Where as the average CD-R has a projected lifespan of only 20 years—if stored in ideal conditions, our accelerated aging tests predict that the 24KT Gold ULTRADISC CD-R will retain its specifications for more than 300 years. Meaning that, now, information can be accurately stored and retrieved longer than ever before".

Claiming that the discs can last for 300 years is a bit of a joke. At least they haven't got a proof of that. Yet.
But does anyone have any experience with thse discs ?
On the German page there are links to where you can buy these cd-rs. But are they also available at bigger stores like Saturn, Media Markt etc ?

Re: MFSL CD-Rs : The best way to save the Stones-collection ?
Posted by: Reptile ()
Date: May 14, 2006 12:31

I don't know, first of all, I don't expect to live for another 300 years, and if I do, the last thing on my mind would be my bootlegs.

This may sound a little macabre, but if an "average CD-R" has a lifespan of 20 years, a good one may have about 40. Now, the question is, will you even live another 40 years?

The trick is they tell you they'll last for 300 years 'cause who will be around to check?

Posted by: Luke33 ()
Date: May 14, 2006 13:09

I believe I'll live for another 40 years. Perhaps I'll post in 40 years time about how my CDr collection is going ??!!

Date: May 14, 2006 13:57