Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

OT - The Voice of Progressive Rock
Posted by: OpenG ()
Date: August 28, 2020 21:40

Worth the listen Jon Anderson interview.

[www.youtube.com]

Re: OT - The Voice of Progressive Rock
Posted by: syndy ()
Date: August 29, 2020 00:42

Nice to see some other Stones Fans love Yes too.
Thanks!

Posted by: KevinM ()
Date: August 29, 2020 06:33

@OpenG

YES is the greatest prog. rock band imho. '71 through '80 is especially great.

The Yes album
Fragile
Close To The Edge
Tales From Topographic Oceans
Relayer
Going For The One
Tormato
Drama

Most great bands would love to have 8 albums as good as these.

+ Yes Shows & Yes Songs live LP's. saw Yes 2x, '91 & '95

I'm not a huge prog.rock fan, but I love Yes & have rated them #4 all-time(tied with The Who) & only behind The Beatles, The Stones & Led Zeppelin. Hendrix @ #6, The Doors #7, Rush #8, Pink Floyd #9, Van Halen #10 (David Lee Roth era).

HM: Clapton/Cream/Derek & the Dominos, The Kinks, Muse, Bob Marley & Nirvana round out the Top 15.

Rush ('74-'84, 1st LP through Moving Pictures), the next 3 were not bad, but they really dropped off after. Rush is the other great prog.rock band. HM to King Crimson (Red, Larks Tongues in Aspic & Starless and Bible Black)...the John Wetton years/LPs.

YES - Going For The One sessions pt.1

YES - GFTT sessions pt.2

YES - GFTT sessions pt.3

Edited 6 time(s). Last edit at 2020-08-29 07:00 by KevinM.

Posted by: rollmops ()
Date: August 29, 2020 16:09