Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Ron Wood: Gimme a Some Neck
Posted by: Maindefender ()
Date: March 2, 2016 11:00

Love the album, but hate the sound. I'm not a studio Engineer but would this fall under the category of being severely brickwalled?

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 2016-03-02 14:05 by Maindefender.

Re: OT: Ron a Wood Gimme a Some Neck
Posted by: Spud ()
Date: March 2, 2016 11:33

No.The album predates that deliberate process of artificially limiting the dynamic range .

I only have it on the original vinyl... but I think its just quite a thick muddy mix, with lots of instruments & voices competing to occupy the same frequency ranges.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2016-03-02 11:53 by Spud.

Date: March 2, 2016 11:37

It's the worst mix (and recording?) in history.

As we heard on the New Barbarians's tour, many of the songs are very good, though.

PS: This is not OT (Ronnie, Charlie and Keith play on it) smiling smiley

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2016-03-02 11:38 by DandelionPowderman.

Posted by: erad ()
Date: March 2, 2016 11:57

That New Barbarians tour had some real potential, a shame Keith and Ron were so wasted.

Date: March 2, 2016 11:58

erad
That New Barbarians tour had some real potential, a shame Keith and Ron were so wasted.

There are gigs when they weren't so wasted..

Posted by: erad ()
Date: March 2, 2016 12:24

DandelionPowderman
erad

There are gigs when they weren't so wasted..
If you could shoot me an email to eradster@gmail.com with some links I would be ever so grateful man smiling smiley

Date: March 2, 2016 14:05

Spud
No.The album predates that deliberate process of artificially limiting the dynamic range .