Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

OT: Drum Advice Needed
Posted by: 71Tele ()
Date: November 6, 2014 06:20

I am a lifelong musician (guitar and bass) and have decided to take up drums. Need advice on a good beginner's set. My drumming idols are Charlie, Ringo, Pete Thomas, etc....not any hard rock guys. John Lennon Plastic Ono band is my favorite album for drum sounds, so you get the idea of my tastes. Any recommendations for snares/cymbals/sets would be appreciated. Intent is to play on my own recordings, rather than play in bands.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2014-11-06 06:20 by 71Tele.

Re: OT: Drum Advice Needed
Date: November 6, 2014 06:56

my advice.
paiste cymbals
remo drum heads
ludwig kit but keep the ludwig heads on the bass drum
ludwig sticks

some people will tell you zildjian cymbals but i always thought paiste have a better sound and last longer.

if you don't have money to frankenstein everything all together right now just buy a ludwig kit and everything and when you have money change the drum heads, etc

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 2014-11-06 07:00 by keefriffhard4life.

Date: November 6, 2014 07:07

funny i just looked without knowing for sure but carl palmer also recommends ludwig drums, remo heads and paiste cymbals. he recommend pro-mark sticks though. you can research and see what drummers like what gear.

ginger baker also used ludwig kits.

charlie watts uses remo drum heads but prefers gretsch kits and zildjian cymbals with vic firth sticks.

Posted by: Naturalust ()
Date: November 6, 2014 07:11

Can't go wrong with a new Ludwig kit. They are amazingly affordable these days. I'd advise to start with the cymbals that come with the kit and upgrade the ones whose sound you are not happy with.