Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Paris '67
Posted by: 24FPS ()
Date: October 13, 2013 07:54

Just listened to Ruby Tuesday from Paris 1967. One of the only times Brian just takes off on an instrument and ad-libs to magical effect. There's probably an old musty thread on this that I'm not good at finding. It seems like a natural for some kind of release. It really captures a certain live era of the band that we've not heard a lot of.

If there any experts on this, what are the best masters on this? Was it broadcast in Paris in stereo? I've heard wildly different levels of quality for this. How close was this to being Brian's last full live gig with the band? (Excluding of course the two song 1968 NME appearance).

Any film? That would be a great addition. I'm surprised ABKCO has never tried to find a way to release this as it would be in their jurisdiction. Maybe they don't possess any of the sound elements.

At any rate, Paris '67, Ruby Tuesday:

[www.youtube.com]

Re: Paris '67
Posted by: DGA35 ()
Date: October 13, 2013 08:44

I believe Athens 67 would have been Brian's last concert excluding NME and RNR Circus.

Posted by: Aquamarine ()
Date: October 13, 2013 10:38

(Sorry Brian's not in it.)

Posted by: 24FPS ()
Date: October 13, 2013 12:00

It seems an important tour because you can see them slowly morphing into the Jumping Jack Flash Stones.

Posted by: His Majesty ()
Date: October 13, 2013 15:49

Unfortunatley the recorder is out of tune with the rest of the band, quite wild in places too. I know from personal experience that playing a recorder with a loud band is a battle from beginning to end. A fight to hear yourself and a fight to be heard.

Even if it were in pristine sound quality, I think it is way too rough for an official release.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2013-10-13 15:52 by His Majesty.