Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Who else plays/has played in a Rolling Stones Tribute?
Posted by: PhilipStaniforth ()
Date: December 5, 2012 20:36

I'm pretty new to the IORR forum but I just realised I'm not the only one who has played in a Stones Tribute.

Are there any other Tributees out there? Who did you play for? and who did you play?

I was Keith for Stoned Again for about 20 months back in the mid 90's.

Re: Who else plays/has played in a Rolling Stones Tribute?
Date: December 5, 2012 20:39

So many...

[www.google.com]

Date: December 5, 2012 20:49

I realise there are loads but I was wondering how many of the people contributing to the IORR site are in or have been in Tributes.

Posted by: duke richardson ()
Date: December 5, 2012 20:50

PhilipStaniforth
I'm pretty new to the IORR forum but I just realised I'm not the only one who has played in a Stones Tribute.

Are there any other Tributees out there? Who did you play for? and who did you play?

I was Keith for Stoned Again for about 20 months back in the mid 90's.

what kind of amps and guitars did you use in the tribute band, as Keith?

Posted by: jamesfdouglas ()
Date: December 5, 2012 20:51

I sang for two of them, once in 94-95 and again, very briefly, in 2001. The first was a ridiculous Halloween dress-up band full of obsesssed fans worried more about their makeup/clothes than actually playing well. It was like being in a band of Fake Elvises (let's be honest, a dress-up tribute band has no more artistic cred than that).

The second one was better and didn't take itself so serisouly, but again, being with guys who only want to cover other music is boring enough; being in a band that wants to only cover one artist (to the point that they cover obscure stuff that's not even good and that people wouldn't know/care about) is suffocating.