Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: Previous12
Current Page: 2 of 2
Re: OT: Looking for a job
Posted by: saltoftheearth ()
Date: August 11, 2011 17:21

So what did you study, then?

Posted by: stones78 ()
Date: August 11, 2011 19:08

saltoftheearth

I'm studying music, and english translator, hopefully by the time I finish my studies more offers will come up.

Date: August 11, 2011 19:09

sealingwax
I'm in a similar position myself.

Lost my job of 17 years in June as company went bust. Have applied for nigh on 30 jobs now and have sent my CV all over the place - nothing back from anyone yet. I even recently re-checked my CV contact details incase I had entered them incorrectly, hence no responses - I hadn't.

Am trying to remain positive, but some days you do feel like you'll never work again!

I too had that doubt about the contact details since I hardly got a response from anyone. I'm trying to stay positive too, some days are harder than others.

Date: August 11, 2011 19:10

The GR
Another draw back I found was where I did so much temporary work I couldn't apply for any work where they wanted a traceable 2 year work history. As I'd taken any work rather than nothing it was considered too much trouble to check so I'd have been a more 'suitable' candidate not working or in prison.

Yes, same for me, I never lasted even 1 year so I guess that's a big drawback for companies that require at least 1 year of experience.

Date: August 11, 2011 19:11

straycatuk
I went through it 2 years ago and my wife has this year and is right now having an interview for (finally) a permanent job. You have to keep plugging away and something,often from an unexpected direction will be there for you.

Good luck Stones78

sc uk

Thanks.

Posted by: Elmo Lewis ()
Date: August 11, 2011 19:25

You left out a word. smoking smiley