Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Some Girls Deluxe 2 CD set, homemade version....
Posted by: R ()
Date: July 12, 2011 18:08

OK, so among my musical hobbies is transferring LPs to CD by first re-equalizing and then recording them to a MiniDisc. This set-up allows me to do everything one used to be able to do with tape but in the digital domain plus enjoy the benefits of digital technology. As such I'm fond of creating 'lost albums' and foisting them on friends and associates. The talk of the Some Girls reissue this fall got me to thinking that it might be sub-par as the Exile SE arguably was. So, why not do my own? This is what I have thus far. What would you add or subtract? BTW, I KNOW MOST OF THE TIMINGS ARE NOT CORRECT. Preparing the packaging (I'm a professional designer) is part of this, as yet, unfinished project.

DISC ONE:

THE ORIGINAL RECORDINGS
1 Miss You (long version) 8:36
2 When the Whip Comes Down 4:20
3 Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me) 4:38
4 Some Girls 4:36
5 Lies 3:11
6 Far Away Eyes 4:24
7 Respectable 3:06
8 Before They Make Me Run 3:25
9 Beast of Burden 4:25
10 Shattered 3:48
11 Everything's Turning To Gold (Shattered b-side) 4:24

LIVE, SUMMER 1978
12 Let It Rock (Detroit, Michigan) 4:46
13 Lies (Detroit, Michigan) 4:46
13 When The Whip Comes Down (Detroit, Michigan) 4:25
14 Just My Imagination (Detroit, Michigan) 6:38
15 Beast of Burden (Lexington, Kentucky) 7:05

Track 1 from original 12" single. Tracks 2 through 10 from
Mobile Fidelity Sound Labs Original Master vinyl LP.
Tracks 12 through 15 originally recorded for the King
Biscuit Flower Hour.

DISC TWO:

THE ARTIFACTS
1 Miss You (longer 8-track tape version) 5:36
2 When the Whip Comes Down (unreleased acetate version) 4:20
3 Far Away Eyes (shorter 8-track tape version) 4:24