Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
OT- stolen riffs
Posted by: bigmac7895 ()
Date: July 10, 2011 15:35

Dear guitar riff experts...

I think I have a three song stolen riff. Was listening to the radio and Tom Petty's Refugee came on and in the chorus, I hear Kiss' main riff throughout Got To Choose. Sample and see if I am right.... then I started playing that riff over and over and it sounds like JJF except the last two notes differs. Again, not a guitar expert so feel free to shoot me down on it.

Re: OT- stolen riffs
Posted by: BrianJones1969 ()
Date: July 10, 2011 16:26

bigmac7895
Dear guitar riff experts...

I think I have a three song stolen riff. Was listening to the radio and Tom Petty's Refugee came on and in the chorus, I hear Kiss' main riff throughout Got To Choose. Sample and see if I am right.... then I started playing that riff over and over and it sounds like JJF except the last two notes differs. Again, not a guitar expert so feel free to shoot me down on it.
What about the "Theme from Mary Tyler Moore" by Sonny Curtis (once of Buddy Holly's band) and its partial usage in the chorus to Electric Light Orchestra's 1979 "Last Train to London" (listen to when Jeff Lynne sings "And I really want tonight to last forever..." )? But that isn't all Lynne ripped off... the melody itself is reminiscent of Heatwave's "Boogie Nights" (listen to the keyboard bassline) as well as the Eagles' "One of These Nights."

~Ben

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 2011-07-11 00:59 by BrianJones1969.

Posted by: Koen ()
Date: July 10, 2011 20:17

Actually, all riffs are stolen from Satisfaction.

Posted by: tatters ()
Date: July 10, 2011 21:01

Released January 26, 1973

Released June 18, 1973

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 2011-07-10 21:06 by tatters.

Date: July 10, 2011 22:10