Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: Previous12
Current Page: 2 of 2
Re: Mick Jagger to Bob Dylan: The ten greatest lyricists
Posted by: No Expectations ()
Date: April 11, 2011 19:00

I'd have to put Robert Hunter right up there!

And I'd second the mention of Ray davies as well.

Posted by: jpasc95 ()
Date: April 11, 2011 19:30

who cares for lyrics ?
As Chuck Berry said years ago, lyrics don't matter, only music does especially in rock'nroll

Posted by: StonesTod ()
Date: April 11, 2011 19:50

jpasc95
who cares for lyrics ?
As Chuck Berry said years ago, lyrics don't matter, only music does especially in rock'nroll

perhaps rock's greatest poet said lyrics don't matter. figures. i think it was mozart who said that the notes don't matter. these guys!

Posted by: doubledoor ()
Date: April 11, 2011 21:12

If I was a musician I'm sure Mick would also be top of my list due to how much I have listened to him growing up. Plus there is a model of lyric writing one could honestly aspire to. Bob Dylan is a cut above all others, and trying to emulate him could make many a writer look like a fool.

Posted by: Gazza ()
Date: April 12, 2011 00:34

jpasc95
who cares for lyrics ?

anyone who believes that is a neanderthal.

Posted by: ripthisjoint908 ()
Date: April 12, 2011 03:48

mick and keef are totally underrated. i mean look at shine a light, rocks off, sister morphine etc...yea everyone knows they can fool around and be silly but when they want to, its pure genius

Posted by: Tumblin_Dice_07 ()
Date: April 12, 2011 07:20