Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

OT: youtube redesign (away from grassroots - more paid content/ads)
Posted by: swiss ()
Date: April 15, 2010 12:04

caveat -- this post is long and will not be of interest to everyone. I thought a few people might be curious about what prompted the recent changes at youtube, and what to expect in the future. If not...coo, and I did label it OT smiling smiley

hi, don't know whether anyone has noticed the youtube redesign that rolled out a few weeks ago.

As some of you know I'm an interaction designer who works on large complex web and mobile "experiences." Although I didn't work on the youtube redesign I know people who did.

Until the past 18 months or 2 years, people in my profession have had baked into our DNA that we're supposed to be thinking first about the people who use our systems; designing and creating for people, experiences that are hopefully meaningful, engaging, smart, usable--as well as meeting the company's various business goals. As you know from all the shitty web experiences and software you've interacted with how successful my profession is. Sometimes very much so; sometimes not at all. It's a constant never-ending challenge, for various reasons, many of them political and many more of them related to short-term $$ goals of companies.