Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Mick all over the German press this weekend
Posted by: stones75 ()
Date: July 27, 2008 20:44

On all first first pages of the major German newspapers you can see
a picture of Mick and a reference on an article about his 65th birthday.
Nothing new to learn there, but still nice to see him on all
the front pages.

Re: Mick all over the German press this weekend
Posted by: virgil ()
Date: July 27, 2008 22:24

Does he qualify for a U K pension?

Posted by: jlowe ()
Date: July 29, 2008 13:44

virgil
Does he qualify for a U K pension?

I'm not an expert but there are qualifying rules (which are due to be changed). Basically, you have to have paid sufficient UK National Insurance contributions over your working life.
If you are in employment this should be handled by your employer who also has to pay an "employer" share.
If/when Mick was "employed or was a Partner in Rolling Stones Ltd that would be straightforward. Howver given that the Stones Business Advisers (!)- presumably ABCKO in the late 60's failed to file tax returns (hence their debt to the Revenue) its by no means certain that all the paperwork was being done.

Apparantly their "much maligned" (Bill's quote) first Manager, Eric Easton used to put money aside in to a Building Society fund to cover such eventualities.
I can't imagine ALO or Klein had any truck with that approach. Far too sensible.

I believe I read an interview with Bill in which he rather grumpily said that he was only getting 50% of his full State pension. That may be becuse if you have other earnings/capital (which he obviously has), your entitlemnt is reduced.
So Mick may not get his full £90 per week or thereabouts a week. Oh dear!
Of course, Mick's position may be more complicated by whatever his tax status is - domicile in the UK or not?