Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Hey guitarists...
Posted by: La Mano Nera ()
Date: December 2, 2006 06:42

I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now and I've made a lot of progress I think. I can pretty much play anything by ear and I have a certain affinity/hunger for the Keef style. It just speaks to me in ways no other music really does.

But, I still wanna expand beyond that. I mainly wanna be able to come up with it, instead of just copy. My biggest frustration is playing with my best friend and trying to come up with shit with him. I know we got that certain connection but I think my lack of knowledge of theory and all that shit is limiting our potential. Like, he would just play the simplest of rhytyms, or just some little melody and I could hear all these other things in my head that go along perfectly, and other ways to expand and switch around the shit that he has...but, I can't play it.

How exactly do you know where to play at? Like, if he's got a couple of cords, how do I know where to play a solo or something on the fret board? Or, how do I know where I can go from one cord to the next? Is this something I gotta go find a book on, or is there a simple forumla you can just burn in you after practice?

Re: Hey guitarists...
Posted by: ChelseaDrugstore ()
Date: December 2, 2006 06:51

Forget about those evil books.'kepp playing with him. You'll know it all when it comes. never runs out either.
As far as all those parts in your head - just find one little part that gives you instant boner and stick with that for a while. You don't have to write the 9th Symphony on Day 1.

"...no longer shall you trudge 'cross my peaceful mind."

Posted by: JuanTCB ()
Date: December 2, 2006 08:03

It's all about the feel!

Posted by: sjs12 ()
Date: December 2, 2006 23:58