Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Charlie and His Drum Kit
Posted by: bassplayer617 ()
Date: November 15, 2009 22:56

Great vid here:

Re: Charlie and His Drum Kit
Date: November 15, 2009 22:58

Select a Stone:

Date: November 15, 2009 23:01

Who says this man isn't interesting to watch? Do we have more Charlie-focused vids?

Date: November 15, 2009 23:07

Pounding away on "Midnight Rambler":

Posted by: oldbarbarian78 ()
Date: November 15, 2009 23:09

Aside from these, I have not seen Charlie-focused videos. However, I love watching him play. I'm a drummer myself and am fascinated by his unique technique of never hitting the hi-hat and snare at the same time. Has anyone ever heard him explain this?

Posted by: 71Tele ()
Date: November 15, 2009 23:27

I think it's a jazz thing. He also tends to skip one beat in four on the hi-hat which is also very not-rock. I love it.

Date: November 15, 2009 23:32

It's rare to get Charlie talking about technique, but it's high time we start talking about Mr. Watts' contribution to the Stones' unique sound. However, Charlie's jazz influences are what give the band that sense of "swing" that many straight-ahead rock drummers ignore.

Date: November 15, 2009 23:40

Very true...You can always tell why when even pro bands try to copy the Stones sound they fail musically. Two reasons: No Open G, and rock drumming instead of Charlie's idiosyncratic swing style.

Posted by: Tate ()
Date: November 15, 2009 23:42

I don't think what oldbarbarian is talking about is a jazz thing. Charlie admits he's a "lazy" player. If you avoid playing the hi-hat on that beat, you only have to play 75% of the ride rhythm on your right hand, and it's literally easier, as in your right wrist gets less fatigued.