Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

OT: Hot spots in Asia
Posted by: Potted Shrimp ()
Date: July 9, 2005 15:20

In two weeks I'm going on a long trip to Asia. I'm planning on staying there for at least a year. Sometimes relaxing, sometimes working (photographer). I'll be starting in China. Next are Tibet / Nepal / India / Pakistan / Vietnam / Laos / Cambodia / Thailand / Malaysia. Anybody know some not to be missed spots that are not mentioned in every Lonely Planet? I've closed one deal to make several photographic series about Train stations / railways. So all tips regarding this topic would be great!

Re: OT: Hot spots in Asia
Posted by: Limbostone ()
Date: July 9, 2005 16:49

Being one of the greatest railway-enthusiasts around I feel like you stole my job winking smiley
Still, I'm a lousy photographer.

What magazine/publisher are you going to work for?

I'm afraid I haven't got many tips for you as I've never been there. And then again I'm not one that is in for the special nostalgic rides and the tourist attractions. @#$%& the River Kwai I'd say. I'm the kind of enthusiast that really komt klaar over everyday commuter traffic, timetables and materieelomlopen.

Regarding evryday traffic, you happen to be visiting most of the countries that still hold on to steam engines in everyday service. If you have any interest in this subject you might wanna read Lou Johnson's "World Steam Since 1980", chapter 1, 2 and 3.