Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

OT: I need your help on guitar tabs
Posted by: Urban Wheel ()
Date: June 25, 2009 15:08

Hi to you all,

I bought my son finally an electric guitar for his upcomming birtday and I was wondering if you (the guitar players amongst you) have the ability to tell me where I can find understandable guitar tabs for a kid of 10 yrs old.

Thx and much appreciated!

UW

'Doo doo doo Heartbreaker'

Re: OT: I need your help on guitar tabs
Posted by: mr_dja ()
Date: June 25, 2009 17:08

I've been teaching guitar and bass for about 13 years and one thing I've found is that, unless you really know the song well, internet based guitar tabs, for the most part are horrible and can be very frustrating.

My advice to you would be to find a songbook filled with tunes that your son likes and buy that. Obviously a beginner level book would probably be better than "recorded versions", if your son is a beginner.

The good thing about published books is many of them actually have the tabs right below the actual "music" notation. If you can't read the music you can read the tab. What makes this generally superior to the "crap" you find on the net is the fact that the publishers are able to represent the rhythm of the notes where on the internet, this is the major problem of tabs. I have seen a few places on the web where they do manage to represent rhythms with some accuracy but for the most part, it's just frustrating.

Although I won't deny that getting the notes is possible from TABs online, for the most part, even when I go to the web to get some notes, I'm listening to the recordings to get the rhythms.