Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
"Modern-Day" Stones: Your Opinions?
Posted by: OhNoNotMeAgain ()
Date: June 6, 2009 15:21

As an IORR newbie, I spent the last few weeks browsing through numerous threads on this forum, and one thing I often noticed is that there doesn’t seem to be a lot of love for the Stones‘ "modern-day" work around here (and with "modern day" I refer to the last 20 years), be it albums or live shows. The opinion of many people appears to be that Mick & company sold out to Michael Cohl in 1989 for the "Steel Wheels"/"Urban Jungle" tours and were more of a purely money-driven commercial entity than a real rock band from that point on. You see, I really got into the Stones very late (in 1990), when I saw them at what was my first real big stadium concert, and I love their last few studio albums, in particular "A Bigger Bang". One of my fave songs of theirs is "One Hit" from the much-despised "Dirty Work", which I understand has a reputation of being the worst Stones record ever. It would be interesting to read opinions from long-time fans who've known them since the 1970s, or 1960s even, in regards of their work from, say, "Steel Wheels" onwards. Was it all really that bad? Please discuss.

Re: "Modern-Day" Stones: Your Opinions?
Posted by: vudicus ()
Date: June 6, 2009 15:32

I presonally think that from Voodoo Lounge onwards, they have released nothing but great albums (Rarities does not count!) lol.
I don't find the need to compare them to the albums regarded as classics, I just love them for what they are.

Steel Wheels for me suffers from the production of that period, although there are some great tracks on there.