Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

OT: Any European/UK/German Reactions to "VALYKRIE" Film??
Posted by: timbernardis ()
Date: December 29, 2008 00:11

I just cannot imagine the All American golden boy Tom Cruise playing Klaus von Stauffenberg who, if I am not mistaken, came from an old Prussian (?) military family. Tom Cruise as a German officer, I don't think so.

Anyone seen it or heard something about it from people or the press?

I would be especially interested in the response from Germany.

plexi

Re: OT: Any European/UK/German Reactions to "VALYKRIE" Film??
Posted by: Edith Grove ()
Date: December 29, 2008 00:54

Has this been released in Europe yet?

I'll go see it since I'm a history buff, WWII history particularly, but I'm thinking this is going to be another Hollywood-esque vehicle for Tom Cruise.
I really would like to see a filmmaker tackle this story without an eye for "Oscar gold."

Here's the review from my local paper:

Muddled first half mars otherwise gripping 'Valkyrie'
Posted by Mike Scott, Movie writer, The Times-Picayune December 24, 2008 4:30AM
Categories: Living: Arts and Entertainment, Movie reviews

Tom Cruise stars as Claus Von Stauffenberg, the Nazi officer who hatched a plan to assassinate Adolf @#$%&.
In the capable World War II historical thriller "Valkyrie," Tom Cruise plays a real-life German officer who helped hatch a 1944 conspiracy to assassinate Adolf @#$%& that -- spoiler alert! -- ultimately failed.

And therein lies the challenge for Cruise and superhero director Bryan Singer ("X-Men," "Superman Returns"). How do you generate genuine suspense when everybody knows the ending?

In the hit-and-miss, but ultimately entertaining "Valkyrie," Singer does it with characteristic big-budget flair.