Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

'From the Vault' Series - BluRay Vs DVD
Posted by: IrelandCalling4 ()
Date: December 16, 2015 12:56

This topic has been discussed on various threads for each respective title, but to have your guys' opinions in one place - I'm pretty new to BluRay, and would like to ask for anyone who has purchased both formats for the Vault series - is there one or more where the BluRay is much better?

The series has been incredible; I revisited Hampton and LA '75 the past few days and it is simply wonderful to have these. In previous years these releases were only dreamed of when discussions of this sort came up. Think about it - Charlieis my Darling, Marquee '71, Checkerboard Lounge, Leeds '82, Texas 1978 (which had been unseen save for the first 6 songs!) - aswell as audio like Brussels '73, Live in England 1965, LA Friday, a full albums' worth of bonus tracks on the 'Some Girls' deluxe, Leeds and Roundhouse '71 - to finally have these, and coming out with regularity, is amazing. Even Ladies and Gentlemen 1972 was brought up so many times previously as an official release we'd all love to see; now we have it!

The series has opened my eyes to tours I hadn't put much faith in previously; Hampton '81 for example was a revelation. Absolutely loved it, and Leeds '82 same. LA '75 I'd had on various bootlegs through the years, the ApocalypseSound was the best copy I had, the official version completely blows it out of the water. And to have a different show on CD, so two LA 1975 shows - Jagger may have been drawling the vocals, but by gum, it's fantastic to have the show in such quality.

I got the BluRay of the Hampton show, and it's wonderful. I'm sure many wrote that LA '75 is much the same whether BluRay or DVD. Any release(s) is particular where BluRay is worth it, I shall be purchasing..