Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Charlies drum set up...?
Posted by: chrismusic ()
Date: May 4, 2010 17:24

Just bought a new beginer drum kit last night ..did not even know how to set it up.

Just want to have it around so others can play ..while I play guitar. I also want to to learn to play as them as well.

I was looking at pictures of how Charlie (obviously one of my favorite drummers) & I notice that uses only one Tom ...??

Any advice for a total novice?

Thanks...

Re: Charlies drum set up...?
Posted by: duke richardson ()
Date: May 4, 2010 17:29

Charlie uses a snare stand to mount the tom on, if thats any help. Instead of using the mount on the bass drum for the tom. If you are playing rock and your drummer hits pretty hard, clear plastic heads with the black dot sound good for that.

Posted by: Tate ()
Date: May 4, 2010 18:44

I agree with Duke on the black dot heads. I've always preferred the single-tom simple set-up. I only use a hi-hat, one ride cymbal and one crash (I include a cowbell, but I use it sparsely... contrary to Christopher Walken's famous advice). I think simple is best, especially for house kit that others will play. Good luck and have fun rockin'!!

Posted by: TooTough ()
Date: May 4, 2010 18:44

Date: May 4, 2010 18:55

also...Have a drum key or 2 or 3 of them handy..tuning drums is subjective but important. the drummer who plays them may not bring his own. Drummers ...forget sometimes to bring stuff... !! have sticks and plastic brushes (or wire brushes) on hand too in case that happens!

Posted by: marvpeck ()
Date: May 4, 2010 19:18

Did you get it set up?

You should be able to sit straight and have the snare sort of in your lap
with your arms bent at 90 degree angle.

Push stuff arond so you reach it without straining.

Get a drum dial to help you tune.

Have fun !!

Marv Peck