Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Bill Wyman:s Great Moments
Posted by: Cafaro ()
Date: September 12, 2009 06:27

Hello all,
I've been playing guitar for about 8 months now. I am trying to learn some KR "ways", trying to learn how to work with a rhythm section and another guitarist. In doing this, I have become more enamored of BW's bass playing than ever.

I would like to great some of your favorite BW moments. To get started, a few of mine are:

No Expectations
Respectable
Whip
Carol
It's not easy
Fight

Please feel free to add!

Re: Bill Wyman:s Great Moments
Posted by: StonesTod ()
Date: September 12, 2009 07:46

the entire '81 tour represented the zenith for bill with the stones...his swing and lyricism on tunes like whip, imagination, let me go, beast, she's so cold, let it bleed practically defined the band on that tour....

Date: September 12, 2009 07:54

In a way Bill's playing is as tricky and deceptive as keith and Charlie's playing. That reviewer in Mojo or Uncut recently said it best: "the Stones simply do not play their instruments like anyone else."
So what Bill does, and how it ends up working within the whole framework of the song are two different animals. He uses a lot of fifths, octaves and fourths. It is jujst when they are placed around Charlie's kick and snare, and Keith's syncopated chops that it swings like no one's business.

Posted by: Zack ()
Date: September 12, 2009 09:31

Miss You.

Posted by: Rockman ()
Date: September 12, 2009 09:50

Bill's rock-truck rumble of I Wanna Be Your Man .....

ROCKMAN

Posted by: marvpeck ()
Date: September 12, 2009 13:02

Just off the top of my head

19th Nervous Breakdown, as it begins the end, the slide down ending in Charlie's crash.

Paint it Black, that sliding bass

2120 S Michigan Ave, great opening riff

Marv Peck