Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Mathijs' opinion/savvy needed!!! (and others too ofcourse ;-))
Posted by: mrrockandroll ()
Date: April 11, 2007 23:05

Sorry this is not a Rolling Stones thread, but allright... excuse me!

Mathijs, I've been playing over a Behringer Vintager AC112 amp for five years now (since my 12th). I'm getting very tired of it, not in the last place because I already own a great guitar (Gibson Les Paul Standard) but the sound is still shitty and uninspiring (digital).

I want to buy a new amp (my parents are willing to pay half of the price if I graduate this year from vwo). But I really couldn't choose between a Fender (great great clean; rolling stones/elvis (james burton)/chuck berry/other great rock n' roll or country music) and a Marshall (great great crunch but thin clean; GN'R, Snakepit, Van Halen, ACDC, Hendrix... you name it).

Because I play in different bands with different kinds of music (rock n' roll / rock / hardrock) and I don't think I'll be able to buy another amp in the coming years, I need a good allround amp. For instance when I buy the Fender, I won't be able to lay down a heavy and solid sound for a Foo Fighters/Nickelback song (at least not the real deal [although they play mesa, but you know what I mean]). And vice versa with the Marshall. But I also know when I buy an allround amp, I won't have the real deal. So that's a difficult one.