Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Q re "Gomper"
Posted by: ChelseaDrugstore ()
Date: May 19, 2006 00:40

There pprobably are not too many Sitar experts here. On "Gomper" the bulk of the song consists of that long Raga-style jam. My guess is that this is the reason it is so often derided, the buttend of jokes, and just not taken seriously. Because the beginning part with the vox is actually quite good.
Anyway, it is pretty much accepted that Brian is playing all that stuff on a Sitar. Now I am no expert but to me this has never sounded much like a Sitar. If someone asked me I would probably say it was a Sitar too. but maybe only because I don't know what ELSE it could be; and Sitar comes closest. It is surely no Sarod, which is (I think) an instrument with a slightly lower register, a bit dryer; not as big a resonance chamber. Smaller gourd LOL (The outboard gear in an Indian recording studio consists of many different sized gourds...)
Maybe Brian's sitar was either not played the classicla way; i.e. he strum sit in an unorthodox manner and gets a different sound. Or they recorded it in a weird way. What I am missing are the drones. Sitar has a bunch of strings that only drone and they give that low twang and buzz. But as "Gomper" goes on the notes get fastre and shorter. They sound like these "quacks". "Quack quack quack". enough to give Ravi Shankar a headache.
Does anyone else know more about this?

"...no longer shall you trudge 'cross my peaceful mind."

Re: Q re "Gomper"
Posted by: Rockman ()
Date: May 19, 2006 00:43

Hey Chelsea....Maybe we could get Nora Jones to ask her dad...I reckon he'd know

ROCKMAN

Posted by: drbryant ()
Date: May 19, 2006 01:06

The problem is, you have to listen to "Gomper" again in order to answer this question, which I don't want to do.