Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

"It May Be the Last Time" by Otis Rush
Posted by: Claire_M ()
Date: October 7, 2005 20:51

Does anyone know if the Rolling Stones song "The Last Time" is um - let's say inspired -- by the Otis Rush song? They seem kind of similar, esp. lyrically: Otis' refrain is, "It may be the last time, oh I don't know."

I'm very new to the blues, in fact I just heard the Otis song for the first time today -- he rocks! I was startled at the resemblance to the Stones song though.

Re: "It May Be the Last Time" by Otis Rush
Date: October 7, 2005 21:34

Some say the song was inspired by "It may be the last time", but not by the Otis Rush version. They say it was inspired by the Staples Singers (including Pops Staples, Mavis Staples etc), an US American gospel group that recorded the song in 1955. There is some similarity but since the song is a traditional Jagger/Richards just turned the lyrics around (getting some girl involved) and thus produced their first no. 1 hit ever.

Posted by: cc ()
Date: October 7, 2005 22:00

Haven't heard that track by Otis Rush, but he is a fantastic blues performer. Actually I'm surprised the Stones never hooked up with him. I saw him live a few years ago, and he didn't seem like the friendliest guy -- which made for a great atmosphere -- maybe that's why.

Posted by: camper88 ()
Date: October 7, 2005 22:04

cc Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Haven't heard that track by Otis Rush, but he is a
> fantastic blues performer. Actually I'm surprised
> the Stones never hooked up with him. I saw him
> live a few years ago, and he didn't seem like the
> friendliest guy -- which made for a great
> atmosphere -- maybe that's why.