Previous page Next page First page IORR home
The Rolling Stones Fan Club of Europe
It's Only Rock'n Roll

Osaka Dome
Osaka, Japan
Friday March 20, 1998

Review by Katsuhiko Kobayashi

When we went inside the Osaka Dome a little after 6pm, it was already filled with audience. Unlike some of the Tokyo shows, the upper decks were filled as well. Lights went off around 7:20pm and the first concert in Osaka began. The sound was good, Mick's vocal sounded very clear and clean. It reminded me of the very first Stones' concert in Japan (Tokyo) back in 90. From the beginning of the show, I felt that it was going to be a good one.

Mick shouted out "Osaka!" at the rap part in "Anybody...", and he also spoke to the audience in typical local dialect - "Domo, ookini (Thank you very much)". Some audience as well were speaking back to the band in Japanese and which created a friendly atmosphere. "It's Only..." was also on tonight's set list, then the web choice was next. For the past few days "Time Is..." and "Love Is..." had been competing for the top position. For me, it was sort of a "heaven or hell" situation between these two songs, and my wish was fulfilled! "Time Is..." was played for the first time on this tour. "Love Is..." is not a bad song, but I think many would prefer "Time Is..." just as I did. I held myself from screaming out loud, for I wanted to hear the song well. Piano on the introduction was cool, and everything else was perfect. Keith was welcomed to his part of the show with big cheers and the audience were dancing to his "You Don't Have To...".

I suppose the excitement of the center stage and onward needs no explanation. Although the beginning of the 3rd verse of "Like A Rolling..." slipped, it did not take away the enthusiasm of the audience. My face felt the heat from an explosion during "JJF", close up of the map on the screen before the encore set drew a roar from the crowd, and abundance of confetti kept falling onto the stage during "Brown Sugar". It was so much, it even made me worry that Mick would swallow them when he opened his mouth to sing. And the glowing fireworks at the finale! It was one of the very best show among the current Japanese Tour, and I would definitely buy tonight's bootleg regardless of its sound quality!!

Start time : 7:20
End time   : 9:40

The set list:

  1. Satisfaction
  2. Let's Spend The Night Together
  3. Flip The Switch
  4. Gimme Shelter
  5. Anybody Seen My Baby
  6. It's Only Rock'n Roll
  7. Saint Of Me
  8. Out Of Control
  9. Time Is On My Side (web choice)
  10. Miss You
    -- Introductions --
  11. You Don't Have To Mean It (Keith)
  12. Wanna Hold You (Keith)
  13. Little Queenie (center stage)
  14. The Last Time (center stage)
  15. Like a Rolling Stone (center stage)
  16. Sympathy For The Devil
  17. Tumbling Dice
  18. Honky Tonk Women
  19. Start Me Up
  20. Jumping Jack Flash
  21. You Can't Always Get What You Want (encore)
  22. Brown Sugar (encore)

Thanks to Koji Inoue for supplying the setlist!

Read all about the Bridges To Babylon tour in the It's Only Rock'n Roll magazine. Next issue IORR 32 out March 20, 1998.

Previous page Next page First page IORR home It's Only Rock'n Roll 1998 -
© The Rolling Stones Fan Club Of Europe