Previous page Next page First page IORR home
The Rolling Stones Fan Club of Europe
It's Only Rock'n Roll

The Chicago Rehearsals

Warning! The following will tell you a lot about the opening concert on Tuesday night, Sept. 23 in Chicago. If you plan to go, and want to have the set list, and everything else, as a surprise, then please do not read on! You have been warned! These are the facts. If you can't go to Chicago, then this is how it will be - book your travel to another show now - and enjoy the greatest rock'n roll band in the world!

Following the arrival in Chicago on Thursday Sept. 18, and the club concert at the Double Door the same day, the Stones were supposed to be starting rehearsals on Friday Sept. 19 at Soldier Field, the opeening venue in Chicago. But heavy rainfall and thunderstorms that evening led to cancellations of the rehearsals.

Saturday and Sunday they rehearsed for two hours each night. Startup was approx. on showtime start, as it seems, at about a quarter to nine. Both nights they tested the intro fanfare, which is awesome. If you have a jetlag, that will be gone the same minute. And if you think you have walked into an Oasis concert, you will wake up immediately and know you are in the wrong place!

Keith is opening the show with his fabulous Satisfaction riffs. Then they run It's Only Rock'n Roll. To read the complete setlist, simply combine the first half of Saturday, and the second half on Sunday rehearsals, and you will see it. Some songs have been reheased several times.

On Sunday they also tested the fireworks. There were fireworks after both Juming Jack Flash and Brown Sugar, being the closing song and the encore.

As the Chicago fans get to know the Stones are at the stadium, more and more hard core fans go out there, wandering around, hoping to get in, enjoying the music, which is quite loud, even oustide. On Saturday about 10 people were outside. On Sunday, I would guess 30 or so. Today Monday, they might rehearse the complete set including the support act The Blues Travellers.

The complete set of songs reheased is as follows:

Sep. 20
8:45 - 10:45
Sep. 21
8:50 - 11:00
Sep. 22
6:15 - 8:55
  1. Satisfaction
  2. It's Only Rock'n Roll
  3. Let's Spend The Night Together
  4. Bitch (1)
  5. Bitch (2)
  6. Rock And A Hard Place
  7. Ruby Tuesday (1)
  8. Ruby Tuesday (2)
  9. Anybody Seen My Baby
  10. 19th Nervous Breakdown
  11. Under My Thumb (web choice)
  12. Out Of Control
  13. Miss You
  14. I Wanna Hold You (Keith)
  15. All About You (Keith)
  1. Satisfaction
  2. Miss You
  3. I Wanna Hold You (Keith)
  4. Little Queenie
  5. The Last Time
  6. Let It Bleed
  7. Sumpathy For The Devil
  8. Tumbling Dice
  9. Honky Tonk Women
  10. You Got Me Rocking
  11. Start Me Up
  12. Jumping Jack Flash
  13. You Can't Always Get What You Want
  14. Brown Sugar
  1. Little Queenie
  2. Let It Bleed
  3. The Last Time
  4. Sympathy For The Devil (1)
  5. Sympathy For The Devil (2)
  6. Intro (1)
  7. Satisfaction (1)
  8. Intro (2)
  9. Satisfaction (2)
  10. Intro (3)
  11. Satisfaction (3)
  12. Intro (4)
  13. Satisfaction (4)
  14. Intro (5)
  15. Intro (6)
  16. All About You (Keith)
  17. I Wanna Hold You (Keith)

Thanks to Olaf Reuthebuch, Andreas and Ruediger Front Row, Germany for helping in on the rehearsals setlists!

Previous page Next page First page IORR home It's Only Rock'n Roll 1997 -
© The Rolling Stones Fan Club Of Europe