Buy/Sell/Trade :  Talk
This is the place where Stones fans can advertise anything for sale, wanted, trade or whatever, from fan to fan. Advertisements are for free.
To see the old ads go here

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Technical issue: audio "fingerprinting"
Posted by: diddleydad ()
Date: April 18, 2021 12:39

Is there a tool to compare songs or virtual CDs to check if they come from different sources or not?

For example the second show from Oakland (1969.11.09) is in sixty plus variations available. I doubt that so many tapers where out there when bootleggig was in its fledgling stages.

Most of my boots are digital only and I wonder if it's possible to group the copies of copies (of copies) with the final goal to find out out what is the source and it's family of derived copies.

Without a technical tool I see no chance to do that.

My background is photography and there is some kind of "fingerprinting" for 1:1 exact copies of images, similar images etc. I assume there is a similar technology for audio.

Thank you in advance for any hints.

dd

Re: Technical issue: audio "fingerprinting"
Posted by: BlueTurns2Grey ()
Date: April 18, 2021 13:41

Waveforms and spectral analysis, for example in Audacity or Adobe Audition, can be used to "see" differences. I also use them, when I find some funny versions, like a longer Miss You (version I) or a longer Sheep Dip Blues. You can see very often, where parts have been spliced together, to make faked versions. Also higher reel to reel generations can be seen very well in spectral analysis. The red marks (Audacity) are getting lower and lower with every new analogue copy.

Edited 4 time(s). Last edit at 2021-04-18 13:45 by BlueTurns2Grey.

Posted by: dph ()
Date: April 19, 2021 04:06

This might help: FLAC Fingerprint. I prefer to listen and pick a preferred version to keep.

Posted by: ironbelly ()