Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Brian Jones DID WRITE SONGS
Posted by: Mrmandajones ()
Date: June 23, 2007 00:16

I have been reading the various "Did Brian Jones write any songs" threads, and I must say I'm disgusted with the reasearch on both sides. Firstly, the people who claim Brian couldn't and didn't write any songs are dead wrong and ignorant of information that is readily available out there. The poeple who belive he did, also didn't find the proof out there to back up there claim. I have been writing a book about interesting music for the last 3 years and there's quite a bit about Brian Jones in it. I will print some here for you.

Brian Jones did in fact write 2 songs for the rolling stones. The first was entitled "Sure I Do". There is some sepculation that Gene Pitney helped Brian complete the song. I was recorded in 1963 with Brian singing lead vocals. It maybe a variation on the song "Sure Nuff I Do". There is a record acetate of the song hanging on the wall of Bill Wyman's Sticky Fingers Cafe in London.

SURE I DO (Brian Jones)* Rec: Nov. 20 or 21, 1963** Rel: Not released. There's a myth that Brian never wrote a song. That's not true. SURE I DO exists on tape and acetate. It was published by Posner music Co.,and is reportedly a slow number with Brian singing the lead vocal in his soft spoken mellifluous style speaking voice, not his raspy singing voice. The Stones appear as a unit on this tune. Brian told a ROLLING STONES MONTHLY reporter as late as '66 that he'd like to record "himself...I've got a fairly good voice for folky material";(RS Monthly #23, 4/66)- I always think his rasp would have served the band well on the occasional blues, myself

The other is "I Want You To Know"