Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

RIAA award Sticky fingers how to check authenticity
Posted by: jackflash27 ()
Date: October 24, 2022 15:02

I'm interested in buying a RIAA award Golden record of Sticky fingers online. It would be cool to have such an item in my collection. The price is 2300 euro. The text on the plate is
"Presented to Mick Jagger. To commemorate the sale of more than 500.000 copies of The Rolling Stones Records. Album, cassette & CD. "Sticky Fingers"
I have no knowledge about how to verify the authenticity of this item. It looks genuine, and the seller seems credible. But I'm no expert.
What do you think of the price? Does anyone have suggestions how to find out more about the authenticity?
Thanks.

Re: RIAA award Sticky fingers how to check authenticity
Posted by: 1963luca0 ()
Date: October 24, 2022 15:49

I’m experienced with RIAA framed awards, but 500.000 copies between 1971 and 1986/7 seem too little to me to consider it as genuine…

Posted by: Topi ()
Date: October 24, 2022 15:58

Ask Matt Lee?

Posted by: Irix ()
Date: October 24, 2022 16:25

From the Music Icons (#3318) auction 20-May-2022 - [www.JuliensLive.com] :

Large picture

LOT #1100: RIAA "gold" record award presented to Bill Wyman to commemorate the sale of more than 500,000 copies of the Rolling Stones Records album Sticky Fingers. 21 x 17 inches.
From the collection of Bill Wyman and Sticky Fingers Restaurant.
Sold Price: $16,000 (estimate: $5,000 - $7,000 ; 18 bids)

Date: October 24, 2022 16:45

From Bill Wyman and his Rolling Stones Archive (#3267) auction 11-Sep-2020 - [www.JuliensLive.com] :

Large picture

LOT #276: RIAA “gold” record award presented to Rolling Stones Records to commemorate the sale of more than 500,000 copies of the Rolling Stones Records album and cassette Sticky Fingers. 21 by 17 inches.