Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Keith keeping time for Stones not Charlie
Posted by: Shott ()
Date: April 26, 2022 16:28

Hi I'm not a musician. I've read in several places that the Stones are unique in that Keith kept the time and Charlie followed. What are some good examples where I could hear that and maybe compared to another non-Stones song where the drummer keeps time? Or maybe it's just everywhere all the time and I need to figure it out. Thanks.

Re: Keith keeping time for Stones not Charlie
Date: April 26, 2022 16:41

Keith decides the tempo on the songs he kicks off. Still does (JJF, SFM, BS etc.).

If Keith drops or increases the tempo during a song (at least in the past), Charlie would follow. However, that goes for any drummer with a guitarist in the band that dominated the sound the way Keith did.

Posted by: yeababyyea ()
Date: April 26, 2022 16:45

Here's an example when Keith starts off JJF at pretty much the same speed, Charlie follows his tempo but Steve "corrects" it. I think Charlie's approach gave the band an interesting dynamic feel.

Hamburg 2017:

Dallas 2021:

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2022-04-26 16:46 by yeababyyea.

Posted by: Mathijs ()
Date: April 26, 2022 16:58

Shott
Hi I'm not a musician. I've read in several places that the Stones are unique in that Keith kept the time and Charlie followed. What are some good examples where I could hear that and maybe compared to another non-Stones song where the drummer keeps time? Or maybe it's just everywhere all the time and I need to figure it out. Thanks.

I think one of the best examples is JJF from Brussels 1973 (boot version). Keith defines and pushes the beat, and Charlie's drags behind. Charlie's not pushing the beat or keeping time, but he follows Keith with his fills and bass drum pattern.

Mathijs

Date: April 26, 2022 17:24